Bay to Brew: Rainy Return

20110419-082035.jpg How quickly I noticed the culture shift while wandering off the plane at 6 a.m. on Friday morning (April 15). The weather, the airport crowd, I knew I was back. Huge thanks to Jane for picking me up at the airport at the crack of dawn and having my bed all set to fall into when we arrived at her place, after her pup, Grace, settled down after jumping all over Auntie Meghan. After a few hours sleep, I wandered over to North & Prospect to get some cash, and upon realizing I was running horribly late, opted to take a cab across town to Marquette to meet with my mentee. Yes I moved across country, but I still take my mentoring duties with the Diederich College of Communicationvery seriously, so I wasn’t going to miss out on a catch up session while in town. I made my first “big city resident” mistake though and actually tried to hail a cab during the day. HA! Luckily I still had Milwaukee’s taxis in my phone and called Yellow Cab to get me from Whole Foods. Nicole and I met up at Starbucks and discussed her semester and plans to graduate next December. She is looking to possibly join the California club, which would be fantastic! I always wonder what my life would’ve been like had I left Wisconsin after graduation.

Just a quick meeting with Nicole, then I was off to visit former coworkers at the Milwaukee County Transit System. My apologies to everyone for such a whirlwind visit, but it was great to see those who were around. I also had to take the photo below to sum up in one quick snap of how much my life has changed in the last month.

20110419-082048.jpg

My New Life vs. My Old Life

My co-workers Fran and Brittany skipped out of the office with me to go catch up over pizza at Classic Slice. Having just a short time in Wisco, I had to wash down my pizza with a New Glarus Spotted Cow. After lunch, I went to my scheduled hair appointment with the fabulous Erzsi at Heroine Salon. I don’t know what I’m going to do with my hair between now and next time I’m back in town!

Next up on my agenda was meeting up with my friend Phil P. for an afternoon beer before he had to head to work. We ended up popping into Wolski’s and caught up over Lakefront brews. After he dashed, I went over to Boutique Vieux et Nouveau to visit my friend Heidi and pick up a new pair of jeans (I also ended up with a cute jacket, shirt, and earrings too!).  The boutique is generously sponsoring my Team Challenge efforts and Heidi has pledged to offer a $10 gift card to women in Milwaukee who donate to my campaign. (If you’ve already donated, expect an email from me soon).

It was POURING when I left Heidi’s, so I decided to hide out over at Brewed Café until Jane was done with her last day of work. Thankfully she was able to come scoop me and since the rain wasn’t letting up, we opted out of our bar crawl and stayed in with a bottle of red wine. I was determined to have that fish fry though, so we trudged through the freezing monsoon over to Comet and grabbed a seat at the bar. It didn’t disappoint and I gladly scarfed down that taste of Milwaukee.

Jane headed home after dinner, but I made one quick pop over to see my friends Monica and Joe P. who live behind the restaurant. My friend Bart, a recent UWM urban planning grad, was also over there and “didn’t want to hear about” how awesome SF was. Regardless, after a beer or two I’d convinced the gang to visit and it sounds like everyone’s heading out here for the Brewers/Giants series this July.

From what I’ve been told that’s our cold/rainy season. Some things never change!

20110419-082105.jpg

Spotted Cow with lunch? Yes, please!

20110419-082117.jpg

Oh Classic Slice, I do miss you.

20110419-082132.jpg

The weather was so bad, our pre-fish fry "bar hop" turned into wine with Grace.

20110419-082147.jpg

A late-night fatty at Monica's

About Meghan A.

creative & professional creative professional | communications, content & community | nasty woman | adventurer & inspiration seeker | bicyclist & feminist | walk san francisco board | current: Typekit community, former: TYPO SF magic maker
This entry was posted in Bay To Brew and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

