August Challenges

So despite my not updating my 31 by 32 in July (I promise one’s coming for August), I am still adhering to meeting as many challenges as I can before the year is out.

I made a couple of 31 day dietary goals and I’ve decided August is the time to test them out, since my fitness goals are at rest for a bit. So starting a couple of days ago, I’m trying the whole vegetarian thing until September. I’m also not drinking soda. We’ll see how this experiment goes.

So far, so delicious. I made the above dish today at lunch with veggies I’d picked up Sunday morning at the Divisadero Farmer’s Market. Chard, Asian Spinach (purple!), Chinese Long Beans, Broccoli, and green onion all whipped up with some spices, soy sauce, and olive oil. Yum.

I wish I’d gotten a chance to cook sooner, but as always, I’ve been running around. Monday was pretty dismal, with too light of day meals, which resulted in a late-night stop at Escape from New York Pizza. While the garlic-potato slice is delicious, I did not need to eat it at bedtime. Yesterday was a little better, but again, too light a lunch (an AMAZING heirloom tomato salad from Radius Café (which reminds me a ton of The National in Milwaukee)), resulted in a slight indulgence when I met up with my friend Sarah in Berkeley. I got the Portabella Sliders at Phil’s Sliders with a side of tots, then we grabbed a cone of at Gelateria Naia (salted caramel for the win!). I was over there to help volunteer for the SF Jewish Film Festival. Since I know Sarah from both SFIFF and Milwaukee Film, she called in a favor.

The no soda front hasn’t been challenging yet. I’ve actually explored three new bars this week – Gold Dust Lounge, Zam Zam, and Cafe Van Kleef (in Oakland!), and only went for beer at Gold Dust. The other two I managed non-soda based mixed drinks – a super smooth dirty martini at Zam Zam – and then this incredible hand-pressed Greyhound in Oakland (OMG, seriously amazing, I want more, right now). Hopefully I don’t slip up and get a vodka seltzer sometime.

Are you challenging yourself this month?

 

About Meghan A.

creative & professional creative professional | communications, content & community | nasty woman | adventurer & inspiration seeker | bicyclist & feminist | walk san francisco board | current: Typekit community, former: TYPO SF magic maker
This entry was posted in Brew To Bay and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

