Autumnal Catch Up

20111005-072136.jpg

Yes, that's Milwaukee. Yes, I was there for .2 seconds.

Whenever the technology becomes available I will be employing a clone to do most of my blogging for me. Or to catch up on sleep. Or something.

Anyhoo, when I last wrote it was Indian Summer here. I guess it still is except for the pouring rain this week. Really messing with my laundromat schedule.

So here’s what I’ve been up to:

  • A very quick trip into Milwaukee, and my last one until next July. A huge THANK YOU to everyone who came out to hang briefly and made me feel so loved and welcomed back in my adopted hometown. A half-hearted sorry to [passive aggressive statement redacted]. Hopefully by next summer I will be able to employ my blog clone AND a personal assistant. I digress, it was awesome to be able to see truly great friends and former co-workers, witness the wedding of the wonderful Aimee and Dan, and convince at least a couple of people to book tickets to California.
  • Part of the scheduling issue for my weekend was I also wanted to take advantage of the super awesome stuff going on in Milwaukee, in addition to catching up. So somehow I managed to squeeze in: the Milwaukee Film Opening party, a trip to Food Truck Friday to indulge in yumtastic globacos from The Fast Foodie, three Milwaukee Film screenings (Think Global, Act Rural (a French documentary on how badly the west has screwed up the global agricultural system); Miss Tacuarembô (a feel-good, Bollywood-style, ’80s nostalgia film from South America); and Give Up Tomorrow (a riviting documentary about sociopolitical injustice in the Philippines criminal system), a run along the Milwaukee River trails, and watching the Brewers clinch the NL Central while sipping Oktoberfest beers at Von Trier (Lakefront Pumpkin, New Glarus Staghorn Octoberfest, Capital Brewery Oktoberfest were some of the Sconnie beers I made sure to sip over the weekend).
  • Joining fellow Jesuit High School alumni for an outing during the final week of the dismal Giants season.
  • Catching a screening of Urban Roots, a documentary on the farming movement in Detroit, at the new 18 Reasons space.
  • Heading with MAB to Nightlife at Cal Academy to look briefly at some science, but mostly experience an awesome Jens Lekman concert.
  • Experiencing my first Hardly Strictly Bluegrass festival. Hands down, the best multi-day, live-music event to which I’ve EVER been. And it’s freaking FREE. Whaaaaaa? I was only bummed I couldn’t spend my ENTIRE weekend there. Saw sets by M. Ward, Bright Eyes, A.A. Bondy, The Low Anthem, Dive Bar Dukes, Devotchka, Fitz & the Tantrums, and The Jayhawks. All in the gorgeous setting of Golden Gate Park. Nothing like stages nestled in rolling meadows under a canopy of eucalyptus.
  • Yes, and of course I squeezed in game watching in the most thrilling weekend in Wisconsin sports history. Discovered Mad Dog in the Fog is a good watch spot. I also watched the Brewers buckle last night and ended up playing bar trivia with a random Wisconsinite and his Brewers-supporting friend.
  • Satisfied all sugar cravings by swinging by the new SF Sweet Streets Pop Up on Sunday in Lower Haight. Of course I had to try the special, which consisted of Bourbon Apple Walnut Crumble Pie from Eat the Love, accompanied by Madgascar vanilla ice cream from Jilli Ice Cream, and topped with Bacon Salted Caramel Sauce from Nosh This. I may have briefly transcended to another plane before my full tummy brought me back to earth.
  • At the urging of our friend Grant, went with Mary Ann to see Drive at the Sundance Kabuki on Monday night. Film lovers film indeed! I like movies you’re thinking about two days later.

I also hosted a Six Months in SF shindig at my apartment this past weekend. A small, quiet affair and I’m thankful to have so many wonderful people in my life after such a brief time here. I look forward to the next six months!

About Meghan A.

creative & professional creative professional | communications, content & community | nasty woman | adventurer & inspiration seeker | bicyclist & feminist | walk san francisco board | current: Adobe Typekit Product Marketing Manager, former: TYPO SF magic maker
This entry was posted in Bay To Brew, Brew To Bay and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

