32 by 33: Six Month Check In

On Wednesday I officially hit my halfway mark in this year. Where has it gone? I’ve already spent a month of it abroad, with more travels planned and managed to stay super busy at home when in San Francisco. Still trying to get these puppies done though. So where am I at?

July Check In:

  1. Pay off one source of outstanding debt 
    Completed in May
  2. Coordinate one outing a month in a different San Francisco or Oakland neighborhood.
    My friends Sunny, Carl and I had an Excelsior Excursion on July 2. Despite some mishaps biking down there (and GIANT hills), we had a great hike on the Philosopher’s Walk in McLaren Park and delicious noms (Lobster Mac & TCHO and Nutella Cheesecake) at Broken Record after.
  3. Visit one of my five remaining states (Arkansas, Mississippi, Oklahoma, North Dakota, Alaska)
    Booked a trip to Mississippi the last weekend in October with some good friends and new friends. Excited to be down to four states!
  4. Read one book per month.
    Devoured Season of the Witch by David Talbot – a sociopolitical history of San Francisco from the ’60s to the ’80s. Super informative and a great way to learn about my new home.
  5. Curate and share one playlist per month on Spotify.
    Been keeping steady with my Best of Tracks and actually doing some writeups about them too (remember to post on blog, Meghan). June was actually a great month for new tunes: 2012 v.6: Best of June Tracks
  6.  Write one min. 1,000 word creative piece per month (essay or fiction).
    Rollover commitment is now up to 7,000 words. Expect my crammed novel by my 33rd birthday. The worst part is I lost a lot of iPhone notes with my picketpocketing. Boo!
  7. Interact with a stranger every day. Try and update My Stranger Project.
    Recently learned that the Tumblr app has improved, so I will make it a priority to update this the second half of the year. I’ve especially noted that I’m more keen to interact with some of the street folks around home and work in interest of this project, at least saying hello back when they address me. You’d be surprised, but if there’s a reaction it’s usually 99% of the time a positive one. I challenge you to give it a try, you’ll feel great for making someone’s day.
  8. Discover and share something new every week.
    I had a brief stint at blogging, but I need to develop a solid accountability plan for this one. Or make it more concrete next year.
  9. Attend one concert per month.
    Actually (shocker) didn’t attend a “formal” concert in the last month. I did hit up Brazilian Jazz Night at Club Deluxe though and strolled through the Fillmore Jazz Festival, pausing at a couple bands for more than one song.
  10. Do yoga once a week.
    I ROCKED this. Pushed myself toward the end of June and then decided to make this month #yogajuly. Began mixing it up between Yoga Garden and Hanuman Center. 6/12: Ashtanga, 6/19: Ashtanga, 6/24: Yin Yoga, 6/27: Vinyasa, 6/29: Vinyasa, 6/30: Hatha, 7/2: Vinyasa, 7/3: Vinyasa, 7/4: Free Your Hips, 7/5: Restorative, 7/6: Vinyasa, 7/7: Hatha, 7/8: Hatha & Yin, 7/9: Vinyasa, 7/10: Restorative
  11. Cook something once a week.
    A little better this time around. Week of June 11 I whipped up sautéed broccoli and garlic with some pasta, the weeks of June 18 & 25 I was in Parts 2 & 3 of my 18 Reasons cooking class, for the 4th I created (not cooking, but still) a red, white & blue fruit salad, and last Sunday, inspired by the cold summer weather (so topsy-turvy in SF), I made broccoli soup. Mmm.
  12. Go out to a bar/restaurant by myself once per month.
    On my Megventure to Big Sur, I watched the Giants game with strangers while enjoying a beer and pork sliders at The Big Sur Taphouse.
  13. Try a new beer once per week (resurrect Beer Broads).
    Tumblr’s mobile fix should solve this, but I kept better track too. 6/11: Anderson Valley Tripel, 6/16: Big Sur Taphouse Brown and 7/2: Hunters Point Porter, 7/7: Almanac Biere de Mars
  14. Use my road bike once per month.
    FAIL. And my regular bike got stolen. DOUBLE FAIL. But in positive news, my replacement is better sized for me and I’m able to get better rides in. Also, the stolen bike and I had a great ride together through the Presidio just before it was snatched.
  15. Try a new hike once per month.
    Despite my best efforts, hiking in Big Sur was a bit of a bust. Did a little around Pigeon Point, but it was pretty easy level. Luckily went on a last minute hike to the Marin Headlands with Ritu & Darian last Sunday. Yay goal check!
  16. Spend the night in six other California cities/towns.
    Added Big Sur to the list, leaving three more.
  17. Achieve something major professionally.
    Previously completed.
  18. Go to an 18 reasons event once per month.
    Unsung: Neglected Vegetable Heroes Parts 2 & 3 June 18 & 25.
  19. Have a new Totally Not For Mom story once a month (feel free to request password if you are not related to me).
    Actually even probably my mom can know the story of my epically terrible date, but it’ll be updated over on the secret blog :). Oh, and there’s also that story about the free gin night. No good can come of that, ever.
  20. Make a new San Francisco/Bay Area friend a month.
    Thanks to my amazing roommates I went to the greatest Fourth of July party ever and got to know a lot of people better who I’ve met over the last year and meet some new great folks. It was definitely an “I love SF and everyone in it, kinda day!”
  21. Volunteer for something new each month.
    I did Sunday Streets again, but more exciting was dressing as a flapper for a fundraiser for The Harding Hive. It was the bee’s knees!
  22. Use my digital camera at least once a week.
    Took it to Big Sur, The Fillmore Jazz Fest, and hiking in the Headlands. Still not weekly, but at least a bit more.
  23. Go to an art event, film screening or lecture at least once per month.
    I went to a CUESA lecture with the authors of Breaking Through Concrete, a photo essay and book about urban farming (6/13).
  24. Go out for a “foodie” meal at least once a month.
    Marley, Mary Ann and I had a lovely girls night at Millennium for their wine dinner with Hendry Ranch Winery.
  25. Kiss a South American. (This has been an unofficial goal for several years, as it’s my last remaining inhabited continent. I figure by making it official maybe I’ll be more motivated.)
    No progress. Continues to be elusive and travel plans aren’t until 2013 at least. Also, I bet you’re waiting for this one in the “explained” series I’m trying to do.
  26. Be the kind of person you don’t meet everyday, every day. (Thanks Derek for this one!)
    Repeat: I’m trying! (But hoorah for abstract goals).
  27. Walk down a new street in SF each month. (Thanks Mary Ann!)
    I walked Larkin Street from Civic Center all the way to Union. Fascinating to observe the subtle changes.
  28. Learn who each of the San Francisco supervisors are and who/where they represent. (Thanks Jodi!)
    The book I read this month gave me some insight into the political machine and traditional trends of the districts, but I still need to learn the current people.
  29. Pamper myself with a massage, facial or mani/pedi once a month. (Thanks again Jodi!)
    The best I can come up with here is a haircut and brow wax.
  30. Befriend someone over 60. (Thanks Sadie!)
    Achieved in Feb!
  31. Buy something for a stranger once a quarter. (Thanks Dave P!)
    I’ll report next month.
  32. Send a letter or card to a different person once a week.
    I’ve been sporadic on this, but I do usually send a chunk at a time. I enjoy getting feedback when it’s a surprise to people. I’m so sneaky 🙂
About Meghan A.

creative & professional creative professional | communications, content & community | nasty woman | adventurer & inspiration seeker | bicyclist & feminist | walk san francisco board | current: Typekit community, former: TYPO SF magic maker
This entry was posted in 32 by 33, Brew To Bay and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

