Meghan Music: January Jamming

20130207-222117.jpg Since I’m trying to blog weekly and don’t have time to write much before this week is up, I present my recent Spotify playlist of January tracks.

2013 is already off to a big start for my ears.
  1. Cheap Beer – FIDLAR (paaarrrrrrrty on)
  2. Birds of Paradise – Dorado
  3. The Hurdle – The Joy Formidable (this record already has my vote for biggest disappointment, though this track is good)
  4. The One You Should’ve Let Go – The Lone Bellow
  5. Spirit Is Willing – Widowspeak (this is the audio doppelgänger of Mazzy Star)
  6. Well You Better – Yo La Tengo (and an excuse to link to one of my favorite Onion articles)
  7. Hangin’ – Free Energy
  8. Photo – Pantha du Prince & The Bell Laboratory
  9. Say That – Toro Y Moi
  10. Binary Mind – Ra Ra Riot (this album is really fun)
  11. Animal – Hilly Eye
  12. San Francisco – Foxygen (on the bandwagon of pimping this album. They’re playing GAMH next Weds, so tempted)
  13. Northern California Girls – Camper Van Beethoven (I seriously love this song)
  14. A Broken Heart – Christopher Owens
  15. Supermoon (The Sounding Line) – Wooden Wand
  16. Breakers – Local Natives (I’m missing the hype on this album. It’s good, but just not wowing me like it seems to others)
  17. Letter of Intent – Ducktails
  18. She’s a Lovemaker – Lee Fields
  19. Friday Night – The Last Royals
  20. I Couldn’t Be Your Friend – Tegan And Sara
  21. Locked in Closets – Solange
  22. General Dome – Buke & Gase (definitely an album for fans of Sonic Youth, Dirty Projectors, noise in general. Saw them recently and was really impressed at their ability to rock a small club)

On a live show note, only made it to one in January (pictured above). Caught one of my favorite bands, Glossary, at Thee Parkside. Gladly convinced two friends to come along! I also checked off one of my 33 by 34 goals that night, as I saw the opener, Travis Hayes, a local band (the headliner was also a local band, but it was a school night…I’m so lame).

About Meghan A.

creative & professional creative professional | communications, content & community | nasty woman | adventurer & inspiration seeker | bicyclist & feminist | walk san francisco board | current: Typekit community, former: TYPO SF magic maker
This entry was posted in Brew To Bay, Meghan Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

