33 by 34: August Checkin

Well at least I got one actual post in last month…BUT I’m not waiting 3 more to tell you how I’m doing with the goals, even though they’re not in the BEST shape. Here goes (maybe I’ll add links and photos later):

 

  1. Pay off one source of outstanding debt.
    Sadly a little off track here as I’m preparing to go to Burning Man and a gal needs her costumes (and camping stuff).
  2. Do yoga twice a week.
    I changed my membership at my studio last month, so only made it to class 7 times. Not too shabby, but still will probably upgrade after my round of travel is over.
  3. Visit one of my four remaining states (Arkansas, Oklahoma, North Dakota, Alaska).
    Debating going to a music thing in Arkansas in December, may have flight alert set.
  4. Publish one blog post per week.
    Complete and utter failure…still.
  5. Devote one-on-one time to a different friend each week, either in person or by phone/long email thread.
    No problems here.
  6. Eat a sit-down meal of one different type of ethnic cuisine each month (burritos & sushi to go don’t count!)
    I seriously cannot remember!
  7. Go to an 18 reasons event once per month.
    Still trucking along with Farm School.
  8. Read one San Francisco-set/authored book per month.
    Expanding this to “Bay Area” so I can totally count reading Khaled Hosseini’s “And The Mountains Echoed” for book club. 
  9. Send a letter or card to a different person once a month.
    Another one I didn’t track, although I know I sent something!
  10. Try a new hike once per month.
    When I was home in Portland I did the Audubon Society loop.
  11. Use my digital camera once a month.
    Fail on this one.
  12. See a different Bay Area band in concert each month.
    My roommate is in a band! Mary Jones’ Lights. Went to two shows. Bam.
  13. Get a massage once a month.
    Thanks Mom for getting me one while I was in PDX.
  14. Watch an SF-set movie once a month.
    There were some scenes from A BAND CALLED DEATH set in San Francisco. So I’m counting it.
  15. See a different visual arts exhibition each month.
    Went to a photo exhibit with my friend Amy at the Harvey Milk Center and hit up SFMOMA on the go’s Beyond Belief exhibit AND a member mixer at Sports Basement.
  16. Do a San Francisco stairway or city walk each month.
    Had a lovely outing last weekend doing the Russian Hill South stairway walk. Finally hit Macondray Lane!
  17. Participate in one community fitness event (5k, bike ride, etc.) each month.
    Giants Race Half Marathon! With an excellent time too!
  18. Touch the ocean at least once per month.
    I don’t think I did 😦
  19. Bike somewhere new once a month.
    New spots in Portland, as well as Mission to Noe to Glen Park to City College area in SF
  20. Plan six SF outings, one in each of the following neighborhoods: Inner & Outer Sunset/Richmond, Bernal Heights, Glen Park.
    Working on this still…
  21. Use each of my SF organizational memberships at least once per quarter.
    The usual line up.
  22. See two movies at The Roxie each month.
    HOW TO MAKE MONEY SELLING DRUGS, A BAND CALLED DEATH, DOWNLOADED
  23. Go to at least four performing arts events.
    Previously completed.
  24. Attend one live game of each professional sports team in the area (Giants, As, 49ers, Raiders, Warriors, Sharks)
    Giants…again.
  25. Do at least four things I previously said I’d never do.
    Beyond complete. I just can’t tell you yet.
  26. Learn each of the San Francisco supervisors and their districts.
    No progress.
  27. Schedule 1 hour per week to work on writing projects.
    A goal I need to take more seriously. Still…
  28. Go to Yosemite.
    No progress.
  29. Run at least 500 miles.
    67 miles in July! At 317 for the year.
  30. Do a one week cleanse (no coffee, alcohol or processed foods).
    No progress.
  31. Travel to a new continent (Africa, Oceania, South America).
    Previously completed.
  32. Participate in a homebrew batch.
    No further progress.
  33. Relearn six words in Spanish each month.
    No. Means the same in Spanish.
About Meghan A.

creative & professional creative professional | communications, content & community | nasty woman | adventurer & inspiration seeker | bicyclist & feminist | walk san francisco board | current: Adobe Typekit Product Marketing Manager, former: TYPO SF magic maker
This entry was posted in 33 by 34, Challenges and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 33 by 34: August Checkin

  1. Phil.... says:

    Band called death rocks… They rock out as well…

Leave a Reply

