Weekend Preview: Hardly Strictly Awesome

Rocking out at Patti Smith, HSB 2012

One of my favorite San Francisco weekends of the year is upon us! This year I’ve planned ahead and taken off Friday afternoon to fully enjoy the magic that is Hardly Strictly Bluegrass.

It’s still mind-blowing to me that we get a free, non-commercial, three-day music festival each year attracting a variety of acts and the most diverse audience of any festival I’ve ever been too (and that’s a lot). Arguably, Warren Hellman left one of the Top 5 legacies on the planet.

I’m also so lucky to know folks who fly in from all over the world to come to this crazy thing and I’m happy to be playing hostess to a “music nerd internet friend” from Boston this year.

Like any music festival, my “want to see” list is longer than who I’ll probably see, and unless I clone myself I’m going to have to make some tough decisions. But here are the shows you may be able to find me at this weekend.

Friday

Jesse Dee

The Cave Singers

The Felice Brothers

Low (maybe)

The Evens

Father John Misty and/or First Aid Kit (Not to make a highly insensitive comparison to Sophie’s Choice, but…)

Calexico and/or Bonnie Raitt (probably a bit of each)

Saturday

Kat Edmonson and/or LP

Sonny & The Sunsets

The Handsome Family

Bettye LaVette and/or Mark Lanegan and/or Sallie Ford & The Sound Outside

Dave Alvin

Loudon Wainwright III

Joy Kills Sorrow

Martha Wainwright

Natalie Maines (what can I say, I secretly liked The Dixie Chicks)

Sunday

Shovels & Rope (depending on how fast I run the Bridge2Bridge 10k, boo 9 AM start!)

Allah-Las

Nicki Bluhm & The Gramblers

Steve Martin & The Steep Canyon Rangers (featuring Edie Brickell) and/or Evolfo Doofeht (this latter one sounds super fun dance party)

Kate McGarrigle Tribute

Billy Bragg

Pieta Brown

Trampled by Turtles

Tift Merritt

Gogol Bordello (despite their recent scandal)

About Meghan A.

creative & professional creative professional | communications, content & community | nasty woman | adventurer & inspiration seeker | bicyclist & feminist | walk san francisco board | current: Adobe Typekit Product Marketing Manager, former: TYPO SF magic maker
This entry was posted in Brew To Bay, Meghan Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

