Meghan Music: Top 20 Songs of 2013

A couple of days late (and harder to narrow than my Top 10 Albums), but here are the 20 songs I enjoyed the most in 2013. There are hundreds more that just missed the cut. Read below for details and video, or just head over to the Spotify playlist.

20. Ramona – Night Beds

I simply love the structure of this song and the way it presents lyrics that may not have as much impact in a more straightforward presentation.

19. Unbelievers – Vampire Weekend

Didn’t spend enough time with this critically-acclaimed album (I tend to backlash, perhaps unnecessarily), but love how VW really is progressing in terms of songwriting. Good stuff.

18. Lose Yourself to Dance – Daft Punk feat. Pharrell Williams

Dance pop had a lot of controversial lyricism this year (damn you Blurred Lines, you’d be on my lists, but y’know, date rape). I can get behind losing yourself to dancing though. Plus this Mad Men mashup.

17. The Fall – Rhye

Beautifully sexy vocals and arrangements.

16. Be Your Man – Ivan & Alyosha

Poppy, happy and delightful. Didn’t spend enough time with this album.

15. Ribbons – Heliotropes

Difficult to pick one song off the album. This one is just sooooo raw – representative of why it’s my album of the year.

14. Dance Apocalyptic – Janelle Monáe

She had a black-tie crowd at the San Francisco Symphony dancing in the aisles. This song captures how. Pure joy.

13. Lady, You Shot Me – Har Mar Superstar

I’ve never been a Har Mar fan, but damn, if this song didn’t get me to stop what I was doing each time I heard it.

12. Do It Again – Camera Obscura

Can Camera Obscura do any wrong? My favorite song off an album full of gorgeous witty earworms.

11. Come Save Me – Jagwar Ma

So happy I caught these guys live. This song perfectly represents the simultaneously super poppy and psychedelic jam sound this band perfects.

10. Northern California Girls – Camper Van Beethoven

Not just my requisite California song, sometimes you just really love a song on a ethereal level.

9. Master Hunter – Laura Marling

Extremely to pick one song off this album, especially since they’re all meant to be a package. This one is tough and unforgiving and I love it.

8. New Lover – Josh Ritter

Heard this song early in the year and loved it, but when it finally landed on Spotify when I actually could identify with it…well, after a really shitty first half of 2013, much needed musical catharthis.

7. Misery Over Dispute – Waxahatchee

Says so much in just 1:46. Listened this whole album a LOT during my first angsty half of 2013. This song in particular spoke directly to a personal situation I was dealing with at the time. If I were 17 I’d probably never stop listening to it.

6. Void – Superchunk

The video probably bumped this song further up on my list (cameo by Heliotropes too!), but again with the frustration/angst theme of my year it resonated well with me.

5. Dead in Your Head – Bleached

The song that made me fall in love with this band and album, as well as inspired my Garage Girls of Summer playlist, which led to me discovering a TON of new music.

4. Song for Zula – Phosphorescent

This song is simply gorgeous. That is all.

3. Change – Mikal Cronin

Easily could’ve picked any song off the Cronin record. Love the frustration-filled opening riffs to this though. I had a lot of frustration in the last year and this song blasted offset some of that!

2. Upstarts – Johnny Marr

This was my jam all last spring/early summer. It’s a jump out of bed and take on life kinda song.

1. When I Knew – Eleanor Friedberger

My favorite movie of 2013 was easily Frances Ha, and this is essentially that in song form.

About Meghan A.

creative & professional creative professional | communications, content & community | nasty woman | adventurer & inspiration seeker | bicyclist & feminist | walk san francisco board | current: Adobe Typekit Product Marketing Manager, former: TYPO SF magic maker
This entry was posted in Meghan Music, Meghan's Picks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

