Reflection Day 5: Sanfraniversary #3

Tonight marks three years since I boarded a plane in Milwaukee and followed my heart to San Francisco. This past weekend I celebrated two years here in the city of my dreams with good friends (old and new) and a few beers (I even found Leinie’s) in Alamo Square, volunteering at Sunday Streets, and biking across the Golden Gate Bridge into the Marin Headlands.

I know I say this annually, but I can’t stress enough how much I appreciate the support of all of you as I continue to build my new life here. Whether I knew you in a former life or met you just last weekend, I’m glad you’ve been part of this crazy ride of life. For those I haven’t updated in awhile, here’s a quick snapshot of what I’ve been up to and what my future holds (and yes, there’s still the 34 by 35 list):

2013/2014 SO FAR RECAP
sparsely blogged last year, but that’s because it was pretty jam-packed. ColombiaBurning Man, New York (and Connecticut), Milwaukee, Portland, SoCal, Napa, DC. Not sitting still in SF either, exploring, volunteering, signing up for Farm School. Embracing having a Year of Never – a year of pushing myself to do things I’d never do (like get a tattoo of the Golden Gate Bridge). No wonder I didn’t have time to write an email.

2014 UPCOMING

MARCH 23: OAKLAND HALF MARATHON FOR TEAM CALICO
It’s my FOURTH (!!!) year running this race and supporting CALICOBACK BY POPULAR DEMAND…if you give over $25, you get to pick a song on my playlist. Donation link here: http://calicocenter.calico2014.dojiggy.com/mcarnold2014. Once again, my goal is to raise $500 for an incredible organization, which advocates for child abuse victims in Alameda County. If you can help at all, it’d be much appreciated!

APRIL 10-11: TYPO SAN FRANCISCO RHYTHM
With more responsibility befalling me at FontShop in recent months, the third annual SF creative conference on design, culture, society – with a little bit of kerning, is my baby this year. Know any designers in the Bay Area? Feel free to connect them with me about ticket discounts. We’re likely going to sell out, so get ’em now.

APRIL 11: WALK TO WORK DAY

I’m honored to be a newly elected member of the Walk San Francisco board! Although I won’t be able to fully participate (going to once again attempt a walk to the conference), I’m thrilled to help with pedestrian advocacy in this city year-round. If you live in SF, definitely consider walking in this day!

JULY 27: THE SF MARATHON
Yep. It’s true. I’ve decided to do one of those. And I’ll be raising awareness (and funds) for Walk SF while I conquer 26.2 miles of San Francisco pavement. Stay tuned.

AND OF COURSE…THE TRAVEL…
Since I skipped my annual Thanksgiving trip this year, my wanderlust is out of control. Once my conference ends, I’ll be on the road for fun and work for a few weeks. First up, gathering with my extended family for a Wine Weekend over Easter. Then, on my quest to get to all 50 states, checking off 47-49 with a patchwork trip to North Dakota, Oklahoma & Arkansas (know folks with a couch in any of those places? Let me know!). I’m back in town briefly, then head to TYPO Berlin and meetings with my European colleagues, then some possible continental wandering.

SPEAKING OF WANDERING…
If you ever find yourself in the Bay Area, feel free to look me up. I’m always happy to tour guide or provide a couch to crash on in the world famous Haight-Ashbury district (as the tour buses underneath our window like to remind us). Hopefully our paths will cross before Sanfraniversary #4!

About Meghan A.

creative & professional creative professional | communications, content & community | nasty woman | adventurer & inspiration seeker | bicyclist & feminist | walk san francisco board | current: Adobe Typekit Product Marketing Manager, former: TYPO SF magic maker
This entry was posted in Brew To Bay and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

