Monday Munchies: Rehash

IMG_4045.JPG

This week’s Eatwell Farm box was both beautiful and daunting. Travel meant I didn’t work from home on the day of delivery and a full weekend meant getting my cooking in when ever I could. I had great intentions and bought ingredients for all the suggested recipes, but only made one. And well, it took me a few days.

IMG_4064.JPG

If you have a few spare hours, or a few spare helpers, I absolutely encourage you to make this Red Kuri Squash and Turnip Hash. One of the more delicious things that’s ever come out of my kitchen. It just took for-freakin-ever to peel and dice everything. Be warned.

Since I got it ready before breakfast time, I made a swiss chard scramble to go with it. Mmm mmm.

IMG_4110.JPG

Though I could probably eat all the hash I made for the next week, I did have other veggies to use. I found a handy quick collard greens recipe online that I’d highly recommend. I served over fresh noodles. Then I tried to recreate the roasted tomato and pepper soup from a couple of weeks ago, but it didn’t turn out quite as delectable (still alright). Luckily some friends came by just as I was finishing this up, so I could share (and have enough for lunch today).

IMG_4043.JPG

I want to demonstrate the importance of saving CSA stuff you don’t use though. Through last week I enjoyed plums from earlier in the season over Bob’s Red Mill cereal with some rose geranium. Such a treat.

IMG_4046.JPGFinally, my life isn’t always spent in my own kitchen. I was lucky enough to snag an invite to a “Sauce in the City” event last week, which was a promotion for Soy Vay products. They partnered with local chefs Rice Paper Scissors, Wise Sons Deli and Azalina Eusope to highlight ways to use the product.

The gift bags were pretty killer actually and thankfully inspired me to use up the Napa cabbage and romaine from my CSA in a stirfry tonight with the Soy Vay Veri Veri Teriyaki Sauce. The greens got a little soggy in the stirfry (I think that romaine was holding a lot of moisture), so I roasted them for about 15 minutes at 500 degrees to crisp ’em up a bit. Highly recommend.

 

IMG_4112.JPG

About Meghan A.

creative & professional creative professional | traveler from home | feminist & nasty woman | product marketing at adobe | left my ❤️ in San Francisco | opinions mine | she/hers
This entry was posted in Brew To Bay, In the Kitchen and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Monday Munchies: Rehash

  1. Amber says:

    That is my favorite brand of sauce, so I 100% approve.

Leave a comment