Monday Munchies: Confession

IMG_5355.JPG

Last night I composted a lot. Bags of spinach gone to wilt. Bell peppers so mushy you could stick your finger through them. Browning cabbage. Sadishes (radishes beyond their turning point).

Tis the season where one gets to bring delicious dishes along to some events, but also where other events take up the bulk of one’s schedule. That said, I’ve continued to plug away since Thanksgiving week and feel caught up before Eatwell Farm and I each take a holiday break.

IMG_5220.JPG

Made these sweet potatoes for Thanksgiving. Don’t mean to toot my own horn, but if it was 1953 I probably would’ve won a blue ribbon and a husband with these babies. Five sweet potatoes steamed in veggie broth, two sticks of butter melted with rosemary and sage (then rehardened), tablespoon of local honey, vanilla-infused salt. Bam.

IMG_5302.JPG

Speaking of veggie broth, have been making a lot with odds and ends from each week’s shipment.

IMG_5285.JPG

Sadly most of my post-Thanksgiving box didn’t get used :(. Thankfully my roommate salvaged some for a delicious chicken stew.

 

IMG_5328.JPG

 

Not my finest cauliflower leek soup (too much liquid), but still tasty. Butternut squash beans and HOORAY for citrus season.

IMG_5450.JPG

 

Put much more effort into things this past weekend. Salad of roasted raddichio and fennel over a bed of sautéed collard greens with mandarin and parmesan. Cream of broccoli soup.

IMG_5408.JPG

I also have to pat myself on the back for these cookies. I brought them to an exchange yesterday and into work today and have heard no complaints. I wanted to make a cookie that reflected my CSA, so having a lot of citrus, came across the Pioneer Woman’s Citrus Butter Cookie recipe. Instead of lemons and limes, I used Navel orange and pomelo zest and juice. I still had loads of rosemary, so melted it into one of the sticks of butter. This depicts the dozen I properly decorated with the icing, zest and rosemary. They all didn’t look this fancy, but they all tasted freaking delicious.

 

 

 

 

About Meghan A.

creative & professional creative professional | communications, content & community | nasty woman | adventurer & inspiration seeker | bicyclist & feminist | walk san francisco board | current: Adobe Typekit Product Marketing Manager, former: TYPO SF magic maker
This entry was posted in Brew To Bay, In the Kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

