34 by 35: Homestretch

Completing my biking goal in Munich.

Completing my biking goal in Munich.

Meant to post this last week. Just a quick update on where I’m at in the final weeks before my 35th (gulp) birthday. Excited to be “done” (am I ever truly done?) with these goals and onto next year’s. Quite excited on what I’m coming up with for a productive 2015.

Completed since Last Update

Bike in a different city or town each month. Since I changed this to “12” instead of monthly I hit it with an epic bike ride in Munich.

Send 34 cards or letters. Gladly complete. And paying off in the holiday season. I love getting mail!

Strategically evaluate my volunteer commitments and charitable donations. As the year winds down, I feel I can mark this abstraction as complete as possible, especially with my thought-out approach to #GivingTuesday. Happy to have stepped up as chair of the new Walk San Francisco fundraising committee too!

Go to 12 different beaches. Hit my goal at my beach from infancy in Cape Elizabeth, Maine.

Try 34 different recipes. I’m going to count this complete with all the CSA cooking I’ve done.

Make a list of 34 moments this year that I’m grateful for. Done.

Progress

Publish 34 blog posts. I only have four to go as of last week. Considering I do my year-end music wrap ups in late-December, we should be totally good on this one

Read 34 books. I’ve got sixto go in the next few weeks and a whole pile from the SF Public Library. It’s gonna be a close one, but I think I can do it.

Watch 12 feature films in 12 different theaters. Only four venues to go as of last week. It’s on.

Go to an opera, a ballet, a symphony and a play. Symphony happened last week and I’m going to the Nutcracker on Christmas Eve. Just getting this done.

Pack my lunch at least 2x a week. As much as I can with the CSA.

Lose 15 pounds before 35. I’m not going to hit it, but I’m happily back to my pre-breakup/marathon weight.

See 12 films at the Roxie. Went to a Royal Tenenbaums/Rushmore double feature last month. Only four to go. I can do this!

Not Happening

Go cash only one week a month.

Spend 30 mins or more in a different San Francisco park each month.

Do 34 non-knee pushups in a row.

Go “off the grid” at least one day a month.

Purge 34 significant items from my life (e.g. books, CDs, clothes).

Buy something for a stranger once a quarter.

Finish the San Francisco stairway walks book.

Take one detox week a month. Adapting this to 15 day detox in 2015.

Attend games of 3-4 different sports. I could go to a Warriors game yet, I suppose.

Previously Completed

Visit at least two of my four remaining states (Arkansas, Oklahoma, North Dakota, Alaska).

Get one new stamp in my passport.

Try a beer from 34 different breweries.

Achieve something major professionally.

Go to 100 yoga classes before my next birthday.

Take six friends to 18 Reasons events with me throughout the year.

Hike in 12 different counties.

Go to 12 concerts at 12 different venues.

See a different visual arts exhibition at 12 different venues.

Run the San Francisco marathon.

Visit my friends in Long Beach and Sacramento.

Go to Yosemite.

 

About Meghan A.

creative & professional creative professional | communications, content & community | nasty woman | adventurer & inspiration seeker | bicyclist & feminist | walk san francisco board | current: Typekit community, former: TYPO SF magic maker
This entry was posted in Brew To Bay. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 34 by 35: Homestretch

  1. Dad says:

    Whew! See ya Tuesday night Meggy! Love you, Dad

  2. Fran Musci says:

    Meghan, You are the only person I know who makes resolutions and actually acts on them for more than a few weeks. Inspiring!

Leave a Reply

