Meghan Music: Top 10 Concerts of 2014

I improved on hitting more shows in 2014 (33) than 2013 (22), so more choice in narrowing down my top concerts. You know it was a good year when you have to cut great artists like Lydia Loveless, Angel Olsen and even Prince (although the Purple One really disappointed me with one of his more “experimental” sets).

Lee Bains III & The Glory Fire

Lee Bains III & The Glory Fires

10. Lee Bains III & The Glory Fires at The Knitting Factory Brooklyn in October

I’d heard about the energy of this band, so glad I had the opportunity to see it for myself and go to a show with Jersey Joe! Unfortunately I was late to a short set at CMJ showcase. Hope to catch them again.

9. Mikal Cronin at Rickshaw Stop in January

My first show of 2014. Tight set, hung with the SF Mikes, tried not to scratch my then-new tattoo. Looking forward to the next album/tour.

8. Hurray for the Riff Raff at Hardly Strictly Bluegrass in October

I realize I am doing an HSB switch in this post, but I’m allowed when reflecting on the year. It was an incredible set, but I will make it a priority to see them in a small venue next time I can.

7. The Strypes at Bottom of the Hill in March

I needed this show. I was sitting at home wallowing in misery, listening to my obnoxious neighbor rant on the deck next door and in the depths of despair. My internet music friends harassed me on Facebook until I came out. And I gave in. And I danced and danced. Thanks Mikes and Missy!

6. Built to Spill at Slim’s in August

Thanks to Mary Ann for celebrating her birthday with this. Happy to accompany her, stand in the front row and transcend. Thanks to Doug Martsch for being transcendent.

Deltron 3030

Deltron 3030

5. Deltron 3030 at Hardly Strictly Bluegrass in October

When thinking back on “epic” shows this year, this one stood out. Wow. I don’t know how you could’ve been there and not left smiling.

4. Courtney Barnett at Rickshaw Stop in February

I heart Courtney Barnett. Her songs are brilliant and she delightfully engaged with audience. The secret is going to be out once her new album comes out next year.

Death From Above 1979

Death From Above 1979

3. Death From Above 1979 at The Independent in November

Super testeroney, but super fun. Took me back to 2004 and reminiscing about the Mad Planet glory days. Great to see this show in SF with Theresa though.

IMG_3311

Natural Child

2. Natural Child with Cool Ghouls at Brick & Mortar Music Hall in July

This show closed out the craziest week of 2014 (and there were a lot). Went with coworkers (Theresa and Molly) just a couple of days after our company got bought. Stationed ourselves up front and let the good times roll with a fantastic showing by both the opener and headliner. Most all-out fun I had at a show this year.

1. Paul McCartney at Candlestick Park in August

Last minute StubHub decision that I don’t regret. My first and likely last Beatle. Everyone’s last time at Candlestick. Would’ve kicked myself for missing. So, so, so glad I went.

About Meghan A.

creative & professional creative professional | communications, content & community | nasty woman | adventurer & inspiration seeker | bicyclist & feminist | walk san francisco board | current: Typekit community, former: TYPO SF magic maker
This entry was posted in Meghan Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meghan Music: Top 10 Concerts of 2014

  1. I’ll get bashed around with you in the “pit” anytime 😉

Leave a Reply

