Monday Munchies: Catch Up Edition

As I was using up veggies tonight (and sadly, composting others), I realized I’ve been as neglectful of my food blogging as I have of my food. It’s been a busy few weeks. SF Beer Week took place between the 6th until yesterday (Saturday for me) and I truly committed myself this year. Another post forthcoming…maybe. I also had a few friends pass through town and have just been busier than a bee. Luckily I have a little break for awhile, and I’m taking the opportunity to slow things down and take care of me. Unfortunately a good friend had to cancel his end-of-February visit (stupid ACL), so I’m taking the opportunity to truly detox from beer week and knock my “abstain from alcohol for 15 days” goal off my list. I hope to get a lot more cooking (and exercise) done during these next couple of weeks.

In the meantime, not everything has gone to waste. Here’s some highlights:

IMG_5919

One of my favorite things to do is just roast a romanesco with olive oil and salt, either whole or in pieces. I usually eat in one sitting.

IMG_5797

When you find yourself with a lot of greens…kale and quinoa tacos to the rescue.

IMG_5922

Using up mustard greens, citrus and watermelon radishes.

IMG_6219

Turnip soup with turnip greens (from an Eatwell Farm recipe) and chicken veggie stir fry.

IMG_6244

Miscellaneous veggie stir fry (cleaning out the drawer night).

IMG_6187

More roasted romanesco (and also fennel…mmmmmmm).

IMG_6072

Becky’s famous Buffalo Chicken Dip (I followed her rec and used rotisserie chicken). Made totally healthy with turnips to dip.

IMG_6070

My attempt at creating Cafe Lulu‘s Asian Slaw (not even close).

IMG_6091

Added some turnips to the slaw, served with butternut curry and carrot & butternut squash soup.

I also had a few unique non-home cooked meal experiences. I’m not big on taking photos while out, but a couple:

IMG_6057

Desert from our office post-holiday dinner at The Lab. Thanks to my co-worker Theresa for organizing!

IMG_6206

SF Beer Week North Coast Beer & Cheese pairing at Mission Cheese. Thanks MAB for coming along!

IMG_6034

The first 18 Reasons Member Dinner. Cooked by Sam Mogannam, founder of Bi-Rite Market.

IMG_5849IMG_5845

 

 

 

 

 

 

Private wine and food pairing at William Hill Estate in Napa. A cool Klout perk! Thanks to my friend Noelle for going with me at the last minute!

And finally a quick collage of the fruits & veggies I have (and haven’t) used from Eatwell. By the way, I’ve totally made some fresh-squeezed pomelo juice too. Thanks Susan for the hand juicer!

IMG_6039IMG_5927
IMG_6078
IMG_6174

 

About Meghan A.

creative & professional creative professional | communications, content & community | nasty woman | adventurer & inspiration seeker | bicyclist & feminist | walk san francisco board | current: Typekit community, former: TYPO SF magic maker
This entry was posted in Brew To Bay, In the Kitchen and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

