Globetrekking: Alaska Adventure Ahead

In June, I will visit my 50th state.

I’m not hitting this milestone quietly.

In June, I will take my longest vacation since 2010 and my longest solo trip ever.

I am going to Alaska, and although its an oft-overused word, this trip is actually going to be epic.

Because I am going during the high season I’ve booked all my transit and accommodations already. By doing this so far in advance I am going to have some really cool experiences…but I am also going to have to fantasize about them for the next few months.

Here’s what I know I’m doing in a nutshell. Oh, and I’ll be taking the train the entire way:

June 19-22 

Spending the Solstice in Fairbanks. Staying at a backpacker’s hostel. Going to a midnight baseball game.

June 22-26

Exploring Denali National Park! Testing out my camping chops one night at the main camp before heading almost 100 miles into the wilderness to one of the most “wonder”-ous campgrounds on earth. Reentering “civilization” in an adorable cabin with moose in the front yard.

June 26

Breaking up the long train ride with a night in the funky town of Talkeetna. Staying at a guest house run by a delightful woman (born & raised in Livermore) who was so helpful on the phone.

June 27-30

Basing myself out of a hostel in Anchorage, but planning a day trip to a Whittier Glacier cruise and I’m sure some other adventures will come together.

June 30-July 4

Heading to Seward and the Kenai Fjords. Staying a spot called the Nauti Otter, which just has to be awesome, in a shack called “The Mariner’s Lair.” Apparently the 4th of July in Seward is totally bananas, and I’ll get to watch the Mt. Marathon Race before hopping my train back to Anchorage to catch my 1:45 AM flight home.

I SERIOUSLY CANNOT WAIT.

Been to Alaska? Any tips? Please leave them in the comments!

About Meghan A.

creative & professional creative professional | communications, content & community | nasty woman | adventurer & inspiration seeker | bicyclist & feminist | walk san francisco board | current: Typekit community, former: TYPO SF magic maker
This entry was posted in Brew To Bay. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

