35 by 36: Halfway Point

 

Wrapping up my last state by marching in a 4th of July parade.

 
Even though I’m only going to meet some of my goals this year and have gotten VERY off track with others, I am pleased to report I hit a HUGE bucket list item this past month – I have now visited all 50 states. That means two of those five big goals I set for myself back in 2013 are complete. Of the remaining, one is reachable (though challenging), another is possible (though I don’t know what it is), and the third is not going to happen, but I’ve made peace with that.
Pretty exciting stuff to check off by 35 1/2.

As for this year’s list, here’s where I’m at halfway through 2015:

Progress

  • Visit Alaska.
    DONE! Hopefully will get several blogs up soon. And I loved it more than I ever thought I would.
  • Go to Burning Man.
    Paid my camp fee. I’ll officially be with Decadent Oasis again this year!
  • Bike in 15 different cities.
    I biked more than I anticipated in Alaska. I now only have one city left to check this off the list. Heading to Denver for work next month and I see this happening!
  • Do yoga for 15 days in a row.
    I’m midway through a streak…just six classes left!
  • Visit 15 State or National Parks.
    Alaska helped out here with Denali & Kenai Fjords National Parks and Chugach State Park. I’m at six overall. 
  • Go on 15 hikes.
    DONE! I should’ve made this 35. Some incredible hikes in our 49th state.
  • Read 15 notable books (award-winners, bestsellers) from the past 35 years (that I’ve not previously read).
    Vacation meant lots of reading, I’m still behind, but at six total now. I finally finished The Goldfinch.
  • Visit 15 breweries.
    Added a few in Alaska: Hoodoo, Denali & Seward Brewing Companies. I also stopped at Berryessa here in CA.
  • Attend 15 separate performances or lectures.
    Believe it or not I added two (counting as one) 85 miles into the wilderness in Alaska with the ranger programs at Wonder Lake Campground in Denali. Now at 13!
  • See 15 visual arts exhibitions.
    At 13 after seeing the Artist-in-Residence exhibit at Denali.
  • Go to 35 classes at the gym.
    At 18.
  • Send mail to 35 different people.
    Sent a few bits of mail from my trip, up to 13 here. I sense a “random mail day” coming soon.
  • Run exactly 35 miles each month, no more, no less.
    Did really, really bad at this last month, as I didn’t run in Alaska at all. Got only nine miles on the books.
  • See 35 films in the theater.
    Added Jurassic World, so up to 9.
  • Walk to work 35 times.
    HoAdded one more for a total of eight.
  • Eat 35 different ethnic dishes.
    Still bad at tracking, but I did take a Thai cooking class!
  • Learn 35 words in German.
    DONE! Duolingo ist super.

Complete

  • Abstain from alcohol for 15 consecutive days.

No Progress since last check-in

  • Do 15 San Francisco stairway walks.
  • See 15 bands I’ve never seen before.
  • Resee 15 bands.
  • Visit 15 different San Francisco Parks.
  • Learn about/travel to 15 Bay Area towns.
  • Learn about 15 typographers and their works.
  • Publish 15 blog posts about travel.
  • Publish 15 blog posts about food.
  • Publish 15 blog posts about art (music, film, visual/performing arts, etc.).
  • Go on 15 set up dates.
  • Go to 15 events at 18 Reasons.
  • Talk to 15 different friends on the phone for 35 minutes.

No Progress at all

  • Create 15 YouTube videos.
  • Reread 15 books.
  • Reduce my debt load by 35%.
  • Increase my savings by 35%.
  • Learn and photograph 35 endemic California flora and fauna.

 

About Meghan A.

creative & professional creative professional | communications, content & community | nasty woman | adventurer & inspiration seeker | bicyclist & feminist | walk san francisco board | current: Adobe Typekit Product Marketing Manager, former: TYPO SF magic maker
This entry was posted in 35 by 36 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 35 by 36: Halfway Point

  1. Michael L Arnold says:

    Hi Meggy! Way to go. Done more than many folks do in a life time. I am so proud of you. Love you, Dad.

Leave a Reply

