Goodbye 2015, Hello 2016


For posterity, a summary of my Facebook posts on December 31 & January 1. Microblogging certainly has taken over my life, but I’m hoping to bring back the intentional blogging and definitely journaling this year. It’s disingenuous to call myself an aspiring writer when I only compose status updates. The year is young and I’m ambitious on the content creation front.

In Princess Bride terms, if 2014 was The Pit of Despair, 2015 was The Fire Swamp. It was a year that tested me in every area of my life. Frustration has been strong. But I go into 2016 with clarity of vision (with special thanks to year-end yoga & Patti Smith) and a gameplan in how to right the ship (and hopefully move into a more welcoming fantasyland).

The Ugly (things out of my control):
I got laid off. Too many people close to me dealt with illness and injury and horrible loss. A former coworker passed away unexpectedly. I dealt with more sexual harassment/misogyny than ever in the past and despite my staunch feminism actually had no clue how to confront it other than raging in my head. I suffered through norovirus. I had to hide from a moose.

The Bad (things that were my own damn fault):
I made three big mistakes that dictated my year and especially the frustrations of the last quarter. I can’t post them here, some of you can probably guess, others — maybe you’ll find out in my memoirs.

The Good:
So much! I can’t let the ugly & bad take away that this year undid 2014. I found my magical rainbow glitterstorm on the first day. Reconciliation happened with a couple very important people in my life, and for that I’m extremely grateful. My relationships with my SF friends deepened immensely before I hit the half decade mark here. I made some amazing new friends (on glaciers, on buses, at campsites and hostels). I marched in a 4th of July parade. I visited my 50th state. I saw The Replacements. In Amsterdam. I backed off running so that I could love it again (it’s coming back) and deepened my yoga practice. I built a campfire all by myself. I went to Disneyland with a friend of 13 years. I redid Burning Man and I get it now. I kayaked with baby otters. I MOVED INTO MY OWN GODDAMN APARTMENT AND IT’S BEAUTIFUL.

I’m set on the right path and I’m ready to walk into 2016 with my head held high.

This new year will find me…

…traveling to:
Lassen Volcanic Park in January
Vietnam/Cambodia in April
Virginia in August
TTITD in August
Portland in October
And I’m sure plenty more!

…celebrating:
At least FIVE weddings of amazing couples

…running:
The Oakland Half Marathon after a year hiatus

…plotting:
Some exciting and scary projects that I look forward to sharing

…loving:
The amazing tribe of friends and family that I’m lucky to have in my life

And the rest is unplanned. BRING IT.

About Meghan A.

creative & professional creative professional | communications, content & community | nasty woman | adventurer & inspiration seeker | bicyclist & feminist | walk san francisco board | current: Typekit community, former: TYPO SF magic maker
This entry was posted in Brew To Bay, general and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

