35 by 36: The Failures

Hey, I went solo kayaking and never wrote about it.

I knew this was coming, but it doesn’t make any easier. In a year that started with such optimism and fanfare,  I only managed to complete a measly 45% of my 35 by 36 goals. My heart just wasn’t in 35. Honestly, apart from an incredible 16 days in Alaska and a truly formative experience at Burning Man, I feel like I was sort of phoning it in and going through the motions this year.

Even otherwise lovely trips like my incredible camping excursion down the PCH and finally making it to Amsterdam were still separate from my true self. Maybe after such an emotional year like 2014 I just needed to guard everything, button up, not push too hard. But don’t worry folks, Meghan’s coming back with a vengeance. I can feel her bubbling up. She’s going to be out in full force in the coming weeks. The creative sparks are igniting, the gumption is boiling…things…are…happening.

And I could not be more excited about next year’s goals.

But before I get into those…I’m breaking up my review of 35 into three parts: failures, efforts & accomplishments. Today I present…

The Total Busts:

Publish 15 blog posts about travel.
I did a TON of travel in 2015 and filled up loads of Field Notes. Maybe one day I’ll transfer those to some sort of semblance of a tale or digital narrative, but apart from a couple attempts it just didn’t happen, despite the goal.

Do 15 San Francisco stairway walks.
I started off so strong, then just stopped. I excelled at this when I had a partner in crime. I’m putting them on hold this year. I think I need a year off to refresh my enthuiasm for such a wonderful adventure.

Publish 15 blog posts about art (music, film, visual/performing arts, etc.).
Again, not for a lack of art, but a lack of self-motivation. Also, I think living alone is going to really help with carving out time to write such things.

Talk to 15 different friends on the phone for 35 minutes.
The phone is over.

Publish 15 blog posts about food.
2015 was a terrible year for eating and cooking in general. I never was home and I ate crap. There, a final post about food.

Eat 35 different ethnic dishes.
I most certainly probably did this, but I just really sucked at documenting.

Go on 15 set up dates.
Thanks to Emily and Sadie for actually coming through on this. Turns out the art of the set up is dead. After swearing off online dating for a year, I reactivated my profile on January 1. Le sigh.

Learn about 15 typographers and their works.
I lost gusto for this when I got laid off. That said, I’ve had the good fortune of maintaining contact a ton of wonderful working people in this space and I don’t doubt my love of letters won’t resurface in the coming year.

Reread 15 books.
It pretty much sums up 2015 that the only book I reread was “Bridget Jones’ Diary”

Create 15 YouTube videos.
I didn’t even know where to start.

Reduce my debt load by 35%.
Pretty much started where I ended. Moving into a renovated studio did not help my cause.

Increase my savings by 35%.
I didn’t really *decrease* it?

Learn and photograph 35 endemic California flora and fauna.
I literally put no effort into this at all. Cool thought originally.

About Meghan A.

creative & professional creative professional | communications, content & community | nasty woman | adventurer & inspiration seeker | bicyclist & feminist | walk san francisco board | current: Typekit community, former: TYPO SF magic maker
This entry was posted in 35 by 36, Challenges and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

