Thank You, Thank You, Thank You David Bowie

I begin 36 in a Bowie-less world, but not a Bowie-less universe.

Ziggy Stardust has returned to outer space, and I, like all the other kooks out there, am absolutely devastated.

As the current wave of sobs subsides and the tears dry on my cheeks, all I can do is put shock aside and reflect on, as twitter has concurred, how “we’re all lucky to have coexisted with David Bowie” for some moment in time.

I feel beyond lucky to have seen him perform at the Milwaukee Theatre with my friend Jane to celebrate her college graduation.

I feel beyond lucky to have attended the David Bowie Is exhibit at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago 18 months ago.

I feel beyond lucky to remember David Bowie’s music being in my life since childhood.

I feel beyond lucky to have gained an appreciation for the magic formula of absurdity and glamour that can exist in design and fashion.

I feel beyond lucky to get to wear a silver and pink tinsel beehive whenever I damn well please because David Bowie paved the way.

Thank you Mr. Jones, Mx. Stardust, Mr. Bowie. You were a hero for more than just one day.

About Meghan A.

creative & professional creative professional | communications, content & community | nasty woman | adventurer & inspiration seeker | bicyclist & feminist | walk san francisco board | current: Typekit community, former: TYPO SF magic maker
This entry was posted in Meghan Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

